#### 1 TORRANCE COUNTY **BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSONERS** 2 RESOLUTION NO. R 2022-54 3 4 A RESOLUTION DESIGNATING THE LOCATION OF POLLING PLACES FOR ALL 5 STATEWIDE ELECTIONS CONDUCTED IN 2022 AND 2023, AMENDING AND 6 SUPERSEDING RESOLUTIONS 2021-23 AND 2022-45 AS TO MEMBESHIP OF THE 7 8 BOARD OF REGISTRATION AND DESIGNATION AS THE COUNTY CANVASSING BOARD. 9 10 WHEREAS, pursuant to the New Mexico Statutes Annotated 1978, Section 1-3-2 (2019), in 11 June or July of 2021 the Board of County Commissioners by resolution shall designate the 12 location of election day polling places in the county for the conduct of any statewide election 13 conducted in calendar years 2022 and 2023; and, 14 15 16 WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners previously did so with Resolution 2021-23, which designated the location of polling places and appointed the Board of Registration, and 17 18 WHEREAS, it became necessary to amend the location of polling places since then, and, 19 20 WHEREAS, Resolution 2022-45 was made to amend the location of polling places, and 21 22 23 WHEREAS, the appointment of the Board of Registration made under Resolution 2021-23 has been found to have been done in error by naming alternate individuals to serve, and, 24 25 WHEREAS, the designation of the Board of Registration as the County Canvassing Board made 26 under Resolution 2021-23 was done in error without regard to potential conflicting duties of the 27 members, and, 28 29 WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that each polling place designated in 30 this resolution complies with the provisions of NMSA 1978, Section 1-3-7 (2019), titled Polling 31 32 Places; and, 33 WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that the Voting Convenience Centers 34 created by this resolution will make voting more convenient and accessible to voters of the 35 consolidated precinct, will not result in delays in the voting process, and are centrally located 36 within each consolidated precinct; and further that the Voter Convenience Centers created by this 37

- 1 Resolution along with any Early Voting locations which the County Clerk determines to
- 2 maintain open on Election Day as additional Voter Convenience Centers all meet the
- 3 requirements of Subsections B and C of NMSA 1978, Section 1-3-4 (2019) and will be available
- 4 to voters of any precinct in the county to cast a vote at any Election Day Voting Convenience
- 5 Center; and,

6

- 7 WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that each polling place provides
- 8 individuals with physical mobility limitations unobstructed access to at least one voting machine;
- 9 *and*,

10

- WHEREAS, this Resolution is subject to amendment should there be precinct boundary
- adjustments once the final results of the 2020 Decennial Census are received by New Mexico
- from the Census Bureau; and,

14

- 15 WHEREAS, pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-34 (2019), the Board of County
- 16 Commissioners in Resolution 2021-23 appointed the Board of Registration for the County who,
- pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-37 (2019), shall serve a term from July 1, 2021 through
- 18 June 30, 2023.

19 20

- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners
- designates the election day polling locations for any Statewide Election to be conducted in 2022
- and 2023 as follows:

2324

- **Voter Convenience Centers (VCC):**
- 25 (All voters in the county may vote at these locations, regardless of where they live.)

2627

1 and 2	ESTANCIA HGH SCHOOL GYM: 709 Hopewell, Estancia, N. M. 87016
3	TORREON COMMUNITY CENTER: 18 Torreon Heights Rd., Torreon, N. M. 87061
4	MANZANO COMMUNITY CENTER 04 Community Center Rd., Manzano, N.M. 87036
5, 17, 20 and 21	MORIARTY-EDGEWOOD SCHOOLS ADMIN. BLDG.: 2422 US Route 66, Moriarty, N.M. 87035

6, 13, 18, 19 and 22	MORIARTY CIVIC CENTER: 202 Broadway Ave., Moriarty, N.M. 87035
7, 14 and 15	MCINTOSH FIRE STATION: 757 Salt Mission Trail, McIntosh, N.M. 87032
8	WILLARD COMMUNITY CENTER 520 N. Becker Ave., Willard, N.M. 87063
9 and 10	DR. SAUL COMMUNITY CENTER: 111 N. Roosevelt, Mountainair, N.M. 87036
11	ENCINO COMMUNITY CENTER: 527 A North Main Street, Encino, N.M. 88321
12	DURAN FIRE STATION: 19 Vidal St., Duran, N.M. 88319
16	TAJIQUE COMMUNITY CENTER 8636 Highway 55, Tajique, N.M. 87016
Absentee/Early Voting	TORRANCE COUNTY ADMIN. OFFICES: 205 9th ST., Estancia, N. M. 87016
Alternate Early Voting Site	MORIARTY CIVIC CENTER: 202 S. Broadway Ave, Moriarty, N. M. 87035

1 2 3

### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of County

Commissioners revokes the designation of the Board of Registration as the County Canvassing Board.

5 6 7

4

#### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of County

- 8 Commissioners hereby appoints the following three voters, who meet the qualifications of
- 9 Subsection B of NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-34 (2019) to serve as the Board of Registration for the
- county from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023:
- 11 Gayle Jones (Republican)
- 12 Michelle Jones (Democrat)
- 13 Sandra Ness (Libertarian)

14

15

## DONE THIS 26 DAY OF October, 2022.

2	
3	
4	APPROVED AS TO FORM ONLY:
	/
5	- 12/1
	m/ / 190/ 10/26/22
6	Jal at 1. Jam 1 1/2 9/22
7	County, Attorney Date
	MRANCE
8	SO UNICO
9	SA.
	E(0: Z=
1.0	
10	=4:
11	14:0
12	NO ERK. TO
	THO ERK MENTIN
12	ATTEST
13	ATTIGORY
	Was and Who apply
14	
15	County Clerk
16	
17	Date: 10/26/2023
18	
10	

# BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS **EXCUSE**

Ryan Schwebach, Chair, District 2

LeRøy M. Candelaria, Vice Chair, District 3

Kevin McCall, Member, District 1